Catholic Dictionary




Rosary of seven decades commemorating the seven joys of the Blessed Virgin, namely the Annunciation, Visitation, Birth of Christ, Adoration of the Magi, Finding of Jesus in the Temple, the Appearance of the risen Christ to his Mother, Mary's Assumption into heaven and her Coronation as Queen of the Universe. Introduced among the Franciscans in 1422, the original crown consisted of seven Our Fathers and seventy Hail Marys. Two Hail Marys have since been added to number seventy-two, the supposed age of Mary at her Assumption.