Catholic Culture Podcasts
Catholic Culture Podcasts
Catholic World News

There is no international right to abortion, US and 31 other nations affirm

October 26, 2020

» Continue to this story on US Department of Health and Human Services

CWN Editor's Note: Signatories of the Geneva Consensus Declaration, released on October 22, include Brazil, Egypt, Indonesia, Pakistan, Poland, and the US.

The above note supplements, highlights, or corrects details in the original source (link above). About CWN news coverage.


For all current news, visit our News home page.

Sound Off! supporters weigh in.

All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a current donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!

  • Posted by: Randal Mandock - Oct. 26, 2020 6:47 PM ET USA

    The only American countries to sign the declaration are Brazil, Haiti, and the U.S. What? Are we limited to only one from each continent: North, South, Middle? But this is not the case. Fifteen countries are in Africa, a modern source of stability for the Christian world. Where is Canada? Where is "Catholic" Mexico? Maybe the COVID-19 crisis is interfering with their lines of international communication. And perhaps the day is still young. Hope springs eternal (Alexander Pope's An Essay on Man).