Catholic World News

16 nations named ‘egregious’ religious-freedom violators

April 27, 2017

In its newly released annual report, the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF) is urging the State Department to designate or redesignate 16 nations as “countries of particular concern” (CPCs) because they are nations in which there are “particularly severe violations of religious freedom that are systematic, ongoing and egregious.”

The nations include ten current CPCs—Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan—as well six other nations: the Central African Republic, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russia, Syria, and Vietnam.

The federal commission found that in 12 other nations—Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Cuba, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Laos, Malaysia, and Turkey—“religious freedom violations are severe but do not fully meet the CPC standard.”


For all current news, visit our News home page.

Further information:
Sound Off! supporters weigh in.

All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a current donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!

Show 1 Comments? (Hidden)Hide Comments
  • Posted by: - Apr. 27, 2017 11:30 PM ET USA

    Let us hope that our country would try to address this issue with the affected nation[s] so that religious and civil freedoms are given to the citizens.