Catholic World News

Vatican announces changes in pallium ceremony

June 27, 2012

The Vatican has announced a change in the ritual in which new archbishops will receive the pallium from Pope Benedict XVI on June 29, the feast of Sts. Peter and Paul.

The pallium is a thin white woolen vestment, worn around the neck, as a sign of the authority of a metropolitan archbishop. Each year on the feast of Sts. Peter and Paul, the Pope confers the pallium on the archbishops who have been installed during the past 12 months.

This year, the actual imposition of the pallium will take place before the Mass, rather than after the homily. The Vatican announced that the change was intended to make the ceremony shorter, to avoid interrupting the liturgy, and to make it clear that the imposition of the pallium, while an honored tradition, is not a sacramental rite.

The Vatican also provided a full list of the 46 prelates who will receive the pallium at this year’s ceremony:

  1. Cardinal Rainer Maria Woelki of Berlin
  2. Cardinal Francisco Robles Ortega of Guadalajara
  3. Archbishop Francesco Moraglia, patriarch of Venice
  4. Archbishop Alfredo Horacio Zecca of Tucuman, Argentina
  5. Archbishop Mario Alberto Molina Palma. of Los Altos, Guatemala
  6. Archbishop Charles Joseph Chaput of Philadelphia
  7. Archbishop Luc Cyr of Sherbrooke, Canada
  8. Archbishop Salvador Pineiro Garcia
  9. Calderon of Ayacucho, Peru
  10. Archbishop Francesco Panfilo of Rabaul, Papua New Guinea
  11. Archbishop Ulises Antonio Gutierrez Reyes of Ciudad Bolivar, Venezuela
  12. Archbishop Stanislaw Budzik of Lublin, Poland
  13. Archbishop Wilson Tadeu Jonck of Florianopolis, Brazil
  14. Archbishop Paul
  15. Andre Durocher of Gatineau, Canada
  16. Archbishop Luis Antonio G. Tagle of Manila, Philippines
  17. Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario of Dhaka, Bangladesh
  18. Archbishop Wiktor Pawel Skworc of Katowice, Poland
  19. Archbishop Jose F. Advincula of Capiz, Philippines
  20. Archbishop Filippo Santoro of Taranto, Italy
  21. Archbishop Jose Francisco Rezende Dias of Niteroi, Brazil
  22. Archbishop Esmeraldo Barreto de Farias of Porto Velho, Brazil
  23. Archbishop Jaime Vieira Rocha of Natal, Brazil
  24. Archbishop Joseph Harris of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
  25. Archbishop Waclaw Depo of Czestochowa, Poland
  26. Archbishop Ignatius Chama of Kasama, Zambia
  27. Archbishop Pascal Wintzer of Poitiers, France
  28. Archbishop John Moolachira of Guwahati, India
  29. Archbishop William Charles Skurla of Pittsburgh of the Byzantines
  30. Archbishop Joseph Coutts of Karachi, Pakistan
  31. Archbishop Romulo Geolina Valles of Davao, Philippines
  32. Archbishop Airton Jose dos Santos of Campinas, Brazil
  33. Archbishop Timothy Costelloe of Perth, Australia
  34. Archbishop Jacinto Furtado de Brito Sobrinho of Teresina, Brazil
  35. Archbishop Thomas D’Souza of Calcutta, India
  36. Archbishop Arrigo Miglio of Cagliari, Italy
  37. Archbishop John F. Du of Palo, Philippines
  38. Archbishop Paulo Mendes Peixoto of Uberaba, Brazil
  39. Archbishop Christian Lepine of Montreal, Canada
  40. Archbishop William Edward Lori of Baltimore
  41. Archbishop Mark Benedict Coleridge of Brisbane, Australia
  42. Archbishop Jesus Carlos Cabrero Romero of San Luis Potosi, Mexico
  43. Archbishop Andrew Yeom Soo jung of Seoul, Korea
  44. Archbishop Benedito Roberto of Malanje, Angola
  45. Archbishop Alfred Adewale Martins of Lagos, Nigeria and
  46. Archbishop Samuel Joseph Aquila of Denver

The following two archbishops will receive the pallium in their metropolitan sees: Two other archbishops, who are unable to attend the ceremony in Rome, will receive the pallium in their own archdioceses:

  1. Archbishop Gabriel Justice Yaw Anokye of Kumasi, Ghana and
  2. Archbishop Valery Vienneau of Moncton, Canada

Further information:
Sound Off! supporters weigh in.

All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!

There are no comments yet for this item.