Catholic World News

Pope reminds new archbishops of bonds to suffragan dioceses, Holy See

June 30, 2011

Pope Benedict XVI held a private audience on June 30 with the 40 archbishops who had received the palllium in a ceremony the previous day.

The Pope reminded the newly appointed archbishops—who were accompanied by family members—that the pallium “reminds you of your specific responsibility toward your suffragan churches and your special bond of unity with the See of Peter.”

The metropolitan archbishops who received the pallium from the Holy Father on June 29, the feast of Sts. Peter and Paul, are:

  1. Archbishop Zbignev Stankevics of Riga, Lithuania
  2. Archbishop Ruben Salazar Gomez of Bogota, Colombia
  3. Archbishop Antoine Ganye Jude of Cotonou, Benin
  4. Archbishop Fausto Gabriel Travez Travez OFM of Quito, Ecuador
  5. Archbishop James Peter Sartain of Seattle, Washington
  6. Oscar Julio Vian Morales S.D.B. of Guatemala City, Guatemala
  7. Archbishop Gonzalo Restrepo Restrepo of Manizales, Colombia
  8. Archbishop Cesare Nosiglia of Turin, Italy
  9. Archbishop Gustavo Garcia-Siller MSPS of San Antonio, Texas
  10. Archbishop Jose Serofia Palma of Cebu, Philippines
  11. Archbishop Pedro Brito Guimaraes of Palmas, Brazil
  12. Archbishop Juan Alberto Puiggari of Parana, Argentina
  13. Archbishop Thaddeus Cho Hwan-kil of Daegu, Korea
  14. Archbishop Jude Thaddaeus Ruwa'ichi OFMCap of Mwanza, Tanzania
  15. Archbishop Jairo Jaramillo Monsalve of Barranquilla, Colombia
  16. Archbishop Paul Yembuado Ouedraogo of Bobo-Dioulasso, Burkina Faso
  17. Archbishop William Slattery OFM of Pretoria, South Africa
  18. Archbishop Ricardo Ezzati Andrello SDB of Santiago de Chile, Chile
  19. Archbishop Paul Stagg Coakley of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  20. Archbishop Murilo Sabastiao Ramos Krieger of San Salvador da Bahia, Brazil
  21. Archbishop Marjan Turnsek of Maribor, Slovenia
  22. Archbishop Remi Joseph Gustave Sainte-Marie MAfr of Lilongwe, Malawi
  23. Archbishop Gerard-Cyprien Lacroix of Quebec, Canada
  24. Archbishop Jose Horacio Gomez of Los Angeles, California
  25. Archbishop Thumma Bala of Hyderabad, India
  26. Archbishop Augustine Obiora Akubeze of Benin City, Nigeria
  27. Archbishop Vincenzo Bertolone SDP of Catanzaro-Squillace, Italy
  28. Archbishop Luis María Perez de Onraita Aguirre of Malanje, Angola
  29. Archbishop Jose Manuel Imbamba of Saurimo, Angola
  30. Archbishop Jacinto Bergmann of Pelotas, Brazil
  31. Archbishop Helio Adelar Rubert of Santa María, Brazil
  32. Archbishop Pedro Ercilio Simon of Passo Fundo, Brazil
  33. Archbishop Charles Henry Dufour of Kingston, Jamaica
  34. Archbishop George Stack of Cardiff, Wales
  35. Archbishop Fernando Natalio Chomali Garib of Concepcion, Chile
  36. Archbishop Dimas Lara Barbosa of Campo Grande, Brazil
  37. Archbishop Dario de Jesus Monsalve Mejia of Cali, Colombia
  38. Archbishop Pierre Marie Carre of Montpellier, France.
  39. Archbishop Sergio Da Rocha of Brasilia, Brazil
  40. Archbishop Sergio Lasam Utleg of Tuguegarao, Philippines
Five other newly appointed archbishops were unable to attend the June 29 ceremony in Rome, and will receive the pallium from a papal delegate. They are:
  1. Archbishop Johannes Maria Trilaksyanta Pujasumarta of Semarang, Indonesia
  2. Archbishop Guire Poulard of Port-au-Prince, Haiti
  3. Archbishop John Barwa S.V.D. of Cuttack-Bhubaneshwar, India
  4. Archbishop Lewis Zeigler of Monrovia, Liberia
  5. Archbishop Pascal N'koue of Parakou, Benin


For all current news, visit our News home page.

Further information:
Sound Off! supporters weigh in.

All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!

There are no comments yet for this item.