Catholic Culture News
Catholic Culture News
Catholic World News

Scholars receive Ratzinger Prize as Pope Francis pays tribute to Pope Benedict

November 15, 2021

» Continue to this story on Vatican Press Office

CWN Editor's Note: Professor Hanna-Barbara Gerl-Falkovitz (a German philosopher) and Professor Ludger Schwienhorst-Schönberger (a German biblical scholar) received the 2021 Ratzinger Prize, awarded by the Joseph Ratzinger-Benedict XVI Vatican Foundation. Also present for the ceremony were the 2020 prize winners, French philosopher Jean-Luc Marion and Australian theologian Tracey Rowland, as the 2020 ceremony was cancelled because of the pandemic.

In his address, Pope Francis paid tribute to Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI, whose pontificate was “characterized by a luminous magisterium and an unfailing love for the Truth.”

The above note supplements, highlights, or corrects details in the original source (link above). About CWN news coverage.


For all current news, visit our News home page.

Sound Off! supporters weigh in.

All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a current donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!

There are no comments yet for this item.