Catholic Culture Solidarity
Catholic Culture Solidarity
Catholic World News

UN report finds 21 countries that punish apostasy

November 05, 2020

» Continue to this story on Crux

CWN Editor's Note: A UN investigator has listed 21 countries that punish apostasy. Ahmed Shaheed, the former foreign minister of the Maldives, told the UN that apostasy in some countries—Afghanistan, Brunei, Iran, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritania, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen—apostates may be subject to the death penalty. The UN investigator also pointed to repression of Christians in North Korea, of Muslims in Thailand, and of Uighurs in China.

The above note supplements, highlights, or corrects details in the original source (link above). About CWN news coverage.


For all current news, visit our News home page.

Sound Off! supporters weigh in.

All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a current donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!

There are no comments yet for this item.