Catholic Culture Dedication
Catholic Culture Dedication
Catholic World News

Pope Francis ‘equates’ 4 cardinals with the 7 current cardinal-bishops

June 26, 2018

» Continue to this story on Vatican Press Office

CWN Editor's Note: The College of Cardinals is composed of cardinal-bishops, cardinal-priests, and cardinal-deacons. In general, cardinal-priests are bishops who lead dioceses, while cardinal-deacons are bishops who work in the Roman Curia. Seven cardinals are honored with the title of cardinal-bishop, corresponding to Rome’s seven suburbicarian sees; the cardinal-bishops elect a dean and vice-dean from their own rank. Currently, all seven are over 80 years old. Pope Francis has “equated” four cardinals “in all respects” with the cardinal-bishops; the four are Cardinal Pietro Parolin (Secretary of State) and three prefects of congregations (Cardinals Leonardo Sandri, Marc Ouellet, and Fernando Filoni).

The above note supplements, highlights, or corrects details in the original source (link above). About CWN news coverage.


For all current news, visit our News home page.

Sound Off! supporters weigh in.

All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a current donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!

There are no comments yet for this item.