Catholic World News

17 nations named ‘particularly severe’ religious-freedom violators

May 03, 2016

In its newly released annual report, the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF) is urging the State Department to designate or redesignate 17 nations as “countries of particular concern” (CPCs) because they are nations in which there are “particularly severe violations of religious freedom that are systematic, ongoing and egregious.”

The nations are Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, the Central African Republic, Egypt, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Syria, Tajikistan, and Vietnam.

The federal commission found that in ten other nations-- Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Laos, Malaysia, Russia, and Turkey-- “the violations engaged in or tolerated by the government are serious.”

Further information:
Sound Off! supporters weigh in.

All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!

Show 1 Comments? (Hidden)Hide Comments
  • Posted by: Randal Mandock - May. 04, 2016 4:41 AM ET USA

    The USCIRF must be wearing blinders. The U.S. didn't even make the second list, where "the violations engaged in or tolerated by the government are serious."