Catholic Dictionary




The heresy that divides the substance of the Blessed Trinity, giving each divine person a nature that is numerically distinct from the nature of both the other persons. It was held by a group of Monophysites in the sixth century, led by two bishops, Cono of Tarus, and Eugenius of Roscellin (d. 1125) and by Oembs and Günther in the nineteenth century. Oembs was condemned by Pope Pius VII in 1804, and Günther by Pius IX in 1857.