Catholic Culture News
Catholic Culture News

Catholic Dictionary




The Society of Mary, founded at Lyons in 1824 by the Venerable Jean Claude Marie Colin (1790-1875), and finally approved by Pope Pius IX on March 8, 1873. The congregation consists of priests and lay brothers, and its constitutions are based on those of St. Ignatius Loyola. Its aim is to foster devotion to the Blessed Virgin and engage in missionary and educational work. The Marist Sisters were also founded by Colin in 1816 for the education of young girls, and the third Order of the Society of Mary was established in 1850 for persons living in the world.