Action Alert!
Catholic World News

34 new archbishops to receive pallium on June 29

June 25, 2013

The Vatican has released a list of the 34 new metropolitan archbishops who will receive the pallium from Pope Francis on June 29, the feast of Sts. Peter and Paul.

Each year on that feast, the archbishops who have been appointed in the preceding year travel to Rome to receive the pallium, a white woolen vestment worn around the neck to symbolize the archbishop’s authority and his union with the Holy See.

This year 34 new metropolitans are expected in Rome for the June 29 ceremony. One other prelate, Archbishop Francois Xavier Le Van Hong of Hue, Vietnam, will be unable to make the trip, and will receive the pallium in his own archdiocese.

The prelates to receive the pallium at the Vatican are:

  1. Patriarch Manuel Jose Macario do Nascimento Clemente of Lisbon, Portugal;
  2. Archbishop Dieudonne Nzapalainga of Bangui, Central African Republic;
  3. Archbishop Carlo Roberto Maria Redaelli of Gorizia, Italy
  4. Archbishop Claudio Dalla Zuanna of Beira, Mozambique;
  5. Archbishop Prakash Mallavarapu of Visakhapatnam, India;
  6. Archbishop Antonio Carlos Altieri of Passo Fundo, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil;
  7. Archbishop Marek Jedraszewski of Lodz, Poland;
  8. Archbishop Philip Tartaglia of Glasgow, Scotland ;
  9. Archbishop Salvatore Joseph Cordileone of San Francisco, California, ;
  10. Archbishop Rolando Joven Tria Tirona of Caceres, Philippines;
  11. Archbishop Rogelio Cabrera Lopez of Monterrey, Mexico;
  12. Archbishop Joseph William Tobin of Indianapolis, Indiana;
  13. Archbishop Carlos Maria Franzini of Mendoza, Argentina;
  14. Archbishop Lorenzo Ghizzoni of Ravenna-Cervia, Italy;
  15. Archbishop George Antonysamy of Madras and Mylapore, India
  16. Archbishop Anil Joseph Thomas Couto of Delhi, India;
  17. Archbishop John Wong Soo Kau of Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia;
  18. Archbishop Murray Chatlain of Keewatin-Le Pas, Manitoba;
  19. Archbishop Sérgio Eduardo Castriani of Manaus, Brazil;
  20. Archbishop Peter Loy Chong of Suva, Fiji Islands;
  21. Archbishop Alfonso Cortes Contreras of Leon, Mexico;
  22. Archbishop Alexander King Sample of Portland, Oregon;
  23. Archbishop Joseph Effiong Ekuwem of Calabar, Nigeria;
  24. Archbishop Jesus Juarez Parraga of Sucre, Bolivia;
  25. Archbishop Fabio Martinez Castilla of Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico;
  26. Archbishop Ramon Alfredo Dus of Resistencia, Argentina;
  27. Archbishop Mario Aurelio Poli of Buenos Aires, Argentina;
  28. Archbishop Gintaras Linas Grusas of Vilnius, Lithuania;
  29. Archbishop Michael Owen Jackels of Dubuque, Iowa;
  30. Archbishop Duro Hranic of Dakovo-Osijek, Croatia;
  31. Archbishop Moacir Silva of Ribeirao Preto, Brazil;
  32. Archbishop Jozef Piotr Kupny of Wroclaw, Poland;
  33. Archbishop Sergio Alfredo Gualberti Calandrina of Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia; and
  34. Archbishop Giuseppe Petrocchi of L’Aquila, Italy


For all current news, visit our News home page.

Further information:
Sound Off! supporters weigh in.

All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!

There are no comments yet for this item.