Catholic Dictionary




The French Benedictine monks of the Congregation of St. Maur, founded under Richelieu in 1621. From 1672 onwards, the Maurists specialized in scholarly writing and produced such outstanding men as Mabillon, Massuet, and Aubert. When some of the monks became associated with Jansenism, discipline suffered and the congregation was finally dissolved by Pope Pius VII in 1818.