Arkansas outlaws most 2nd, 3rd-trimester abortions
Catholic World News - March 07, 2013
Overriding vetoes from Gov. Mike Beebe, the Arkansas legislature has enacted two laws that would ban most second- and third-trimester abortions.
One bill prohibits abortions after 20 weeks except in cases of rape, incest, and threats to the life of the mother; the other bill, the Arkansas Human Heartbeat Protection Act, prohibits abortions after 12 weeks except in cases of rape, incest, threats to the life of the mother, and “highly lethal fetal disorders,” according to the Associated Press.
Under the law, women who procure illegal abortions will not face punishment, while doctors who commit illegal abortions face the revocation of their licenses.
An appeal from our founder, Dr. Jeffrey Mirus:
Dear reader: If you found the information on this page helpful in your pursuit of a better Catholic life, please support our work with a donation. Your donation will help us reach seven million Truth-seeking readers worldwide this year. Thank you!
Our Spring Challenge Grant
Progress toward our Spring Challenge Grant goal ($24,070 to go):
All comments are moderated. To lighten our editing burden, only current donors are allowed to Sound Off. If you are a donor, log in to see the comment form; otherwise please support our work, and Sound Off!