Action Alert!

Catholic Dictionary




The flesh of animals and birds eaten by human beings, as understood in Church law. Its prohibition on days of abstinence and fast has a spiritual value, going back to the Old Testament and practiced since apostolic times. "The law of abstinence forbids the use of meat, but not of eggs, the products of milk or condiments made of animal fat" (Pope Paul VI, Paenitemini, Norm III, 1).